Recreational Math Books – Part I

Most of us encounter math puzzles during high-school. If you are really obsessed with puzzles, actively searching and solving them, you will very soon run out of puzzles !! One day you will simply realize that you are not encountering any new puzzles. No more new puzzles. Poof. They are all gone. You feel like screaming “Give me a new puzzle“. This happened to me around the end of my undergrad days. During this phase of searching for puzzles, I encountered Graceful Tree Conjecture and realized that there are lots of long-standing open “puzzles”. I don’t scream anymore. Well… sometimes I do scream when my proofs collapse. But that’s a different kind of screaming.

Sometimes, I do try to create new puzzles. Most of the puzzles I create are either very trivial to solve (or) very hard and related to long-standing conjectures. Often it takes lots of effort and ingenuity to create a puzzle with right level of difficulty.

In today’s post, I want to point you to some of the basic puzzle books that everybody should read. So, the next time you see a kid screaming “Give me a new puzzle“, simply point him/her to these books. Hopefully they will stop screaming for sometime. If they comeback to you soon, point them to Graceful Tree Conjecture  :)

1) Mathematical Puzzles: A Connoisseur’s Collection by Peter Winkler

2) Mathematical Mind-Benders by Peter Winkler

3) The Art of Mathematics: Coffee Time in Memphis by Bela Bollobás

4) Combinatorial Problems and Exercises by Laszlo Lovasz

5) Algorithmic Puzzles by Anany Levitin and Maria Levitin

I will mention more recreational math books in part 2 of this blog post.

2 thoughts on “Recreational Math Books – Part I

  1. Pingback: Recreational Math Books – Part II « My Brain is Open

  2. Situation puzzles (sometimes called lateral thinking puzzles) are ones where you need to ask lots of yes or no questions to figure out what happened in the situation. These are good puzzles for groups where one person knows the puzzle and answers the questions.

Leave a Reply

